8 Mudras for Emotional Healing

mudras for emotional healing

Mudra’s are gentle placements of the hands and fingers that can stimulate healing and emotional well-being.

The theory behind Mudra’s is that each finger represents one of the Universal elements – the thumb represents Fire, the index finger Air, the middle finger Space, the ring finger Earth and the pinky finger represents Water.

It is believed that when the body is out of balance, placing the hands into the appropriate Mudra’s can help restore the equilibrium to the elements and therefore evoke healing.

Here are the most common Mudra’s for emotional healing:


acceptance mudra1.) Acceptance Mudra

Healing: This Mudra is perfect for overcoming sadness, resistance and being stuck in the past.

Position: Fold the index finger so it rests in the space between your thumb. Next, have your thumb touch your pinky finger. Make sure your thumb is resting on the nail of your pinky.

Practice: Start with 10 minutes a day.

self confidence mudra2.) Self-Confidence Mudra (Ahamkara)

Healing: This Mudra is perfect to help regain your self-confidence and ability to stand up for yourself. This Mudra brings a sense of peace and confidence and helps you to overcome your fears.

Position: Bend your index finger slightly, and touch your thumb to the outside of your index finger, a little less than half way down. Try to keep your other fingers straight.

Practice: Start with 10 minutes a day.

energy mudra3.) Energy Mudra (Apan)

Healing: Great for giving you a boost of energy throughout the day.

Position: Touch your thumb to your middle and ring finger. Keep your pinky and index finger as straight as possible.

Practice: Whenever you need a boost of energy. Limit to 10 minutes when first starting out.

Screen Shot 2015-05-15 at 12.19.45 pm4.) Intuition Mudra (Bhudy)

Healing: Helps to stimulate your intuitive gifts and abilities. Helps you to trust yourself.

Position: Touch the tips of the pinky and thumb finger together.

Practice: Best used during meditation.

concentration mudra5.) Concentration Mudra (Hakini)

Healing: Helps you to keep focus and concentrate. Also helps you to remain present and with a clear mind.

Position: Use both your hands and touch the tips your fingers together.

Practice: Use whenever you need to concentrate or remain present during a conversation or before a meeting.

patience mudra6.) Patience Mudra (Shuni)

Healing: This Mudra helps you to stay present in the moment and can help evoke patience and understanding.

Practice: Touch the top of the middle finger and thumb together.

Duration: Start with 10 minutes per day.


7.) Courage Mudra (Hansi)

Healing: This Mudra helps to evoke courage, fearlessness and can help relieve anxiety. Is beneficial to help ease feelings of loneliness and isolation. Can also help stimulate feelings of self-love and acceptance.

Practice: Touch the the tips of all the fingers together expect the pinky. Hold the pinky finger out straight.

enlightenment mudra8.) Enlightenment Mudra (Uttarabodhi)

Healing: This Mudra can evoke enlightenment, a deeper sense of spiritual awareness and consciousness. It can also help you to release fears or blockages and can calm nerves. Also good for stage fright.

Position: Use both hands and interlock them together, keeping the index fingers and thumbs straight. Extend the touching thumbs and index fingers straight so they are opposite each other.

Practice: A very powerful Mudra, start with 10 minutes a day.


Want to learn more about Mudras? Read – The Healing Power of Your Hands


Subscribe To Our Weekly Energy Forecast Newsletter

Sent every Sunday (pacific time)

Invalid email address
You can unsubscribe at any time.

About the author


Tanaaz is the creator of Forever Conscious. She is an intuitive astrologer and aims to use her writing to heal and inspire. She is also the author of several books including the Power of Positive Energy, Messages for the Soul, and My Pocket Mantras. She also runs online courses and in-person retreats.